Beef Ribs, Macaroni and Cheese, Memorial Day/Pentecost

Originally posted on Cooking in Sens:

This weekend Memorial Day is celebrated in the U.S. and Pentecost in France.  Three day weekend and time for barbecues.  Of course I went to the deep country in Villiers-Louis where my Weber grill has taken up semi-permanent residence.

In anticipation of the holiday, I visited Jacques for early morning coffee and to discuss the British flanken cut of beef ribs.  Jacques, a retired butcher, understood what I wanted but not quite why.  Bones, as he said, are for dogs in France :)  He’s such a hoot!  Anyway, he took me across the street to the market and helped me place my order a week in advance.  The young butcher did a good job.

I decided to go for an Asian/Japanese/Korean style marinade that was dictated by my cupboard contents.  Really, I outdid myself :)  I’m going to repeat this marinade.

The ribs were tasty, if a little on the…

View original 360 more words

2 comments on “Beef Ribs, Macaroni and Cheese, Memorial Day/Pentecost

  1. Thanks for the reblog :)

Please comment!

