Mexericas

Taking Care

It is mexerica season again.  Brazilian grocery stores sell these all year, but I think the best time to eat them is during the winter.    They seem sweeter and more juicy.   Mexerias are tangerines, but with a much more floral scent and fewer seeds than tangerines I ate at home.  They have this beautiful aroma that you can smell even if they are just sitting out in a kitchen bowl.  Citrusy, floral and fresh.

Usually, I eat them straight up.  They are so great for snacks at work.  However, I am going to try making a few of my favorite orange-flavored desserts with mexericas.  Mexerica and vanilla chip cookies, and fresh mexerica cake with mexerica buttercream sound delicious to me.

Here is a bit of information about mexericas in Portuguese.  According to this link, China, Spain and Brazil are the three largest producers of mexericas in the world.  I…

View original post 32 more words

Please comment!

